OsMak Eye Rewind: Celebrating 25 years of Ospital ng Makati’s Ophthalmology Department

by Faye Corcuera, MD

On the eve of December 4, 2017, consultants, residents, support staff, alumni, and guests came in their best retro-formal outfit as Ospital ng Makati’s Department of Ophthalmology celebrated its 25th year of providing quality eye care to Makatizens.

The Pintados Hall of Blue Leaf Filipinas was filled with joy and laughter as nostalgia swept the crowd. It was also the time that the exemplary services that were contributed through the years were recognized. Dr. Nelson Pasia, the department’s founder and Chairman Emeritus, was awarded as the Outstanding Consultant for Community Service. Dr. Ruperto Roasa, the department’s past chairman was bestowed Outstanding Consultant for Administrative Service. Dr. Jesus Marin, the department’s immediate past training officer was conferred the award for Outstanding Consultant for Residency Training. Ultimately, the Distinguished Alumni Award was accorded to Dr. Ma. Donna Santiago for her distinctive contribution in Philippine Ophthalmology and the field of Plastics, Lacrimal and Orbit subspecialty which brings pride and inspiration to her Alma Mater.

In the spirit of fun and camaraderie, the current consultants, residents and staff were grouped into three. They performed songs and dances from the 80’s through the 90’s, the decades when the department was starting its roots. The group of Dr. Youko Sakurai won the competition due to the show-stopping performances of Dr. Ruperto Roasa, Dr. Jun Marin and Dr. Ellen Yu-Keh.

The night ended with joie de vivre, as the department’s passion was ignited more to continue service excellence in providing the best eye care to the constituents of Makati City. This formidable commitment will ensure that OsMak Eye’s legacy will continue on for the next 25 years and more.

Celebrating 25 years of service to the people of Makati.

In Photos: Consultants who have contributed exemplary services to the department. (Clockwise) Dr. Nelson Pasia, Outstanding Consultant for Community Service. Dr. Ruperto Roasa, Outstanding Consultant for Administrative Service. Dr.Jun Marin received the award of Outstanding Consultant for Residency Training in behalf of Dr. Jesus Marin. Dr. Ma. Donna Santiago, Distinguished Alumni Award.

Dr. Ruperto Roasa, Dr. Jun Marin, and Dr. Ellen Yu-Keh brought the house down with their show stopping performance.

Consultants, alumni, residents, support staff of Ospital ng Makati’s Ophthalmology department.




About The Author

Faye Corcuera, MD is an incoming first year ophthalmology resident at Ospital ng Makati. Her interests include photography and nanoblock building. She enjoys travelling and playing badminton.