POIS Participates at 2017 PAO Congress

by Vicente Victor Ocampo, Jr. MD

As in previous years, the Philippine Ocular Inflammation Society (POIS) actively participated at the 2017 Philippine Academy of Ophthalmology (PAO) Congress held at the SMX Convention Centre last December 4-7, 2017 with educational activities organised by CCEO reps Drs. Kristine Bacsal-Flores and Pia Galvante.

On Day 1, a symposium on updates on infectious and non-infectious uveitis was held featuring guest foreign speaker Dr. Soon Phaik Chee of the Singapore National Eye Centre. Dr. Chee delivered informative lectures on emerging viral infections and ocular tuberculosis. She also showed interesting videos on the surgical management of uveitis complications in the anterior segment which turned out to be just an appetiser for her presentation during the plenary session the following day on surgical pearls on uveitis cataract. Drs. Ellen Yu-Keh and Harvey Uy completed the session with talks on intravitreal drug delivery and systemic therapy for non-infectious uveitis and surgical management of uveitis complications in the posterior segment.
On Day 2, challenging Uveitis cases were presented and dissected by a panel of experts. Drs. Juan Lopez, Vicente Victor Ocampo, Jr., Cheryl Myla Arcinue, Mayan Joan Tumulak, and Jessica Marie Abano took turns in discussing interesting encounters with ocular inflammatory diseases and Dr. Chee did a remarkable job in summarising and synthesising these cases with her own personal insights.
The highlight of the POIS activities was the launch of their book, “Quick Guide to Uveitis” , during the Opening Ceremonies of the Congress. POIS members assembled onstage to collectively celebrate this event.
The society also held its annual business meeting and conducted its elections of officers. Re-elected for a fresh two-year term were:

President - Vicente Victor D. Ocampo, Jr. MD
Vice-President - Ian Paredes MD
Secretary - Egidio Jose Fortuna MD
Treasurer - Kristine Margaret Bacsal-Flores MD
Directors - Ellen Yu-Keh MD, Franz Marie Cruz MD, Pia Regina Galvante MD
Immediate Past President - Jessica Marie Abano MD


About The Author

Vincente Victor Ocampo, Jr, MD
President, Philippine Ocular Inflammation Society